Editor’s note

21 04 2007

Recently it was brought to my attention that the major benefit of operating a publicly viewable blog is also a major peril.  Anyone at any time can read what you’ve written and can also read into it what they want.  But what you write you are responsible for.  Even if its written as satire, an opinion piece, or as something to promote discussion.  The fact is,  I often write about whatever is on my mind at the moment.  I am considerate of the fact that certain members of my own family read what I write, but beyond that, I dont often censor myself as to content for my blog.  I’m not writing an online news journal, or copy for tv news.  This is just me. My thoughts.  My opinions. My humor.  A way for you to know a little more about me.  I don’t apologize for that.

I do, however, want to say that when writing, I take from other areas of my life.  Its easy to feel insulated with respect to my writing online and whatever else is going on. It is certainly easy to be lulled into thinking that these areas are vastly seperate and never between shall meet.  That is not the case.

I wrote something recently, which could be taken a certain way and in that could be personally offensive to a group of individuals that I, in no way, wish to offend.  I wanted to discuss a more broad topic in order to promote some debate on the issue.  In fact,  I intentionally wrote things I didn’t agree with to catalyze discussion.  But as I learned sensetive issues are just that: sensetive.  Added to the complexity is the fact that certain aspects of my writing pertaint to what I do, and even though I am entitled to have whatever opinions I want about that,  I am not out to emperil this area of my life.  And because I don’t want this to become a point of contention between me or anyone else.  I, of my own free will and choosing, have decided to remove the post.  I would’ve liked a different outcome for this but this is my decision.  I like what I do, and I like who I do it for.   I refuse to, even unintentionally, poison the well from which I drink.  Thank you.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

