To my friends…

12 10 2007

To my friends,  My esteemed colleagues,  My brothers-in-animation-arms:

On this,  the last day of work for three of my associates, this post is in your honor.

To Drew:

We’ve been through some big projects together and you’ve always kept your great sense of humor.  Even through the split you were stalwart and positive.  Keep those traits, they will serve you well.  You are a good animator, and a very talented and creative person.  Continue to draw, write, and create.  You have what it takes to run a studio someday.

To Matt:

Although you haven’t been with the company for very long, I feel like in that time we’ve become good friends. Your work is always consistently good.  You have a razor sharp wit and a winning personality that will take you far in life.  I want to encourage you to keep pushing yourself.  Your skills and great friendliness will always make you someone that others will want to work with.

To Kurt:

I’ve known you the longest, but doesn’t it seem like no time at all?  You really are a genius. Your drawings are so unique and distinctive — a style all your own. You are also one of the funniest people I know.  You are a great animator on top of all that.  I hope you keep drawing.  Get yourself noticed, because the industry will beat a path to your doorway.

To all:

Gentlemen the pleasure of these last few months and years has been mine. I truly wish the best for all of you and I expect to see great things from each.  Your talents are all amazing and we are fools for letting you go. Keep in touch,  I want to work with all of you again.

Your friend and colleague,

Phil


Actions

Information

5 responses

12 10 2007
Old Man in AK

An average man compares himself to others. A great man encourages others.
The life we live is in large part the product of our choices. Choose well.

12 10 2007
D!

Phil,

It’s sincerely been memorable. A small group of guys flying by the seat of their pants to make something work. 24 minutes of animation in something like three weeks certainly has to be some kind of record.

I look forward to reading what you write. I’ll miss the quote of the day. Maybe you should do it as a side-blog feature. Of course, unless you were taking notes, there will not be as many intellectual gems from the Dragon’s various exploits (and explatives).

Take care and we’ll defn get together soon.

-d

12 10 2007
In the odd chance that someone’s still reading… « The Art of Toon

[…] Today was my last day at Wet Cement Productions.  I worked on a lot of great projects, met a lot of cool people and got a crash course in a production environment.  Good times and bad times, we all learned quite a bit.  I’ll miss working with all of you very much.  I’m doing my best not to get sappy.  Phil said it better anyway.  […]

13 10 2007
David

Stunned Silence…

Guys, I am so sorry to hear this news. I know I only worked with you for a short time, but I really enjoyed my time there, and the friendships I made. Clearly I’ve done a poor job at keeping in touch, and for that I apologize. You are all extremely talented and I am certain that you’ll move on to bigger and better things.

4-Square forever!
David

15 10 2007
Matt

Thanks Phil, your words mean a lot. Even though I wasn’t there for as long as everyone else, I was thankful to be sad to leave because it means I’ve made good friends, which will remain so regardless of employment, geography, dimensionality, or any other variable of existance. Talk to you soon.
Matt

Leave a Reply

