Top Podcasts Recommendations

21 10 2008

Hi Everyone,

I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts recently.  Approximately seven and a half hours of content every day to be exact.  Theres a few that I really enjoy and being that I am such a generous guy, I will give you my top picks for podcasts. They are available on Itunes.

1. Out of the Past, Investigating Film Noir. A great podcast series that is chock full of information about film noir.  Each episode they dissect a particular movie and discuss it’s particular merits as it pertains to the genre. Great stuff, especially if you are a writer or are interested in movies in general.

2. 12 Byzantine Rulers. A great historical series about the Byzantine Empire and it’s 12 most influential rulers. Very well done.  And you thought our political process was messed up. You should check out the Byzantines.

3. SModcast. Kevin Smith (of Clerks fame) and Scott Mosier deliver this hilarious and very ‘adult content’ podcast.  Kevin is just funny to listen to but also has some profound insight on some everyday things.  You can’t help but smile when you listen to it.

4. Psudeopod. Weekly horror podcast.   Great horror stories and a well produced series.  Especially good this time of year.

5. The Moth. True stories from real people.  This has great anecdotes from people in front of an audience.  My favorite was the Elderly Debutante Hypochondriac.   Now you have to listen just to find out what I’m talking about.

6. Creative Screenwriters Magazine podcast. Jeff Goldsmith interviews the writers of current movies.  It is insightful and inspiring. Especially for budding screenwriters, but interesting enough for anyone who cares about how the story of a movie is put together.

7.  The Ricky Gervais Show. I’m not sure if it is on currently but on it’s first run it was absolutely hilarious.  You almost feel bad for poor Karl Pilkington, but not really.

Well that’s all I’ve got for you at the moment.  I’m considering doing my own podcast. But then again, who would want to listen to me yammer on for 30 minutes?


Actions

Information

5 responses

21 10 2008
Wolfgod

Neat! I’m going to collect the whole set.

22 10 2008
Katie

yammer! yammer!

you REALLY should check out the Midwest Teen Sex Show podcast…HI-larious!

*runsaway*

22 10 2008
Seth

As I was observed today over my shoulder reading today’s post, I was asked a morbidly stupid question.. “What’s that project Hellbeast? A Blog?” Oh how simple minded are the minions…
You fool! this Hellbeast is so much more, It’s the written form of the Aztec language with the daily spoonful of cold pressed flaxseed oil. It’s the smell of a septic tank next and the feeling of a new pair of socks that aren’t stretched out on the top. Its the double-mint gum twins or the satisfaction of farting as you leave the elevator. Yes it’s the look on the face of a cat as it sharpens it’s implanted titanium hydrocarbon claws on the leg of your living room couch.
Oh so much more than just a blog.
Thanks Brother.

22 10 2008
Professor Manticore

Tell all your friends!
And join our Facebook PROJECT HELLBEAST MINIONS!

27 10 2008
Ryan

So, I don’t know if you forgot, or if you don’t listen to it anymore, or if you’re a fool…my guess is it’s the latter. Anyhue, animation podcast. That’s all I wanted to say, now, back to writing:)

P.S. Did I spell latter right?

Leave a Reply

